Roasting as a side-business - Advice needed

Discuss roast levels and profiles for espresso, equipment for roasting coffee.
bicktrav

#1: Post by bicktrav »

Hi everyone,

I've been roasting for about 6 years on a Gene Cafe. In that time, I've learned a fair deal about the practice, and I've become half-way decent at it. Now, I'm interested in turning my roasting hobby into a side-business. I have a job I love, so I'm not looking for a new career. It would just be nice to make some extra cash on the side. Has anyone here done that kind of thing? Were you able to create a side-income? Also, what kind of roaster would you recommend? I want to continue roasting from home, but on a larger scale and with a better machine. I've been looking at everything from the Huky to 1kg roasters from places like Mill City. What do you all think?

Thanks!

Moxiechef
Supporter ♡

#2: Post by Moxiechef »

I've contemplated the same thing.

I've got a USRC 1# and used to roast the espresso for one of my old restaurants. Only about 8# a week. But to have enough coffee for the restaurant and myself, I'd have some 4 hour roast sessions. Some of those were fun, some were frustrating. Roasting 12 to 14 batches in a row can be quite arduous at times.

That said, if I were to dive into roasting for friends or a farmers market, I wouldn't go with less than a 2k machine and would probably consider a 5k that were prove to handle 1k batches extremely well.

As to the ROI and economics of it, someone else will have to answer that.

Advertisement
bicktrav (original poster)

#3: Post by bicktrav (original poster) replying to Moxiechef »