Roast by time, sound or temperature

Discuss roast levels and profiles for espresso, equipment for roasting coffee.
Gigimedrano

#1: Post by Gigimedrano »

hi guys, so my question is "simple".
do you guys roast by time, sound (1st 2nd crack) or temperature??

SilentDoom

#2: Post by SilentDoom »

I'm not a pro, but I would say sound and smell are most important. Color.
Temperature and time came second for me. I had a thought when I went into it where I wanted to get to with those, but I feel those come second to sound. They're almost the dialing in part. I could be way off, but it seems logical to me. Obviously, if your time is way out of line, you're not going to get optimal results due to underdevelopment or baking. So all of your things end up working together to get to where you want.

Gigimedrano (original poster)

#3: Post by Gigimedrano (original poster) »

thanx for the reply, i think ur right.. i will be paying more attention to those two things.

SilentDoom

#4: Post by SilentDoom »

Don't listen to just me either! Let's see what others say. Some might even say taste is most important :D

aecletec

#5: Post by aecletec »

Gigimedrano wrote: do you guys roast by time, sound (1st 2nd crack) or temperature??
Yes.

Andy

#6: Post by Andy »

I'm not good at roasting by my senses in real time. So, I go by temperature, time and sound; By color, only to a very minor degree and not at all by smell.

treq10

#7: Post by treq10 »

They all matter a lot. :)

The most important thing is to cup the coffees and understand how each and every variable impacts flavor.

For example: Time - shorter roast would preserve more acidity where as longer roast would give more body. Temperature - lower is obviously lighter, but temperature is meaningless apart from looking at it together with time and RoR. Throw in airflow and drum speed for controlling how much conduction/convection is used (for variables in density and water activity).