Quest M3 / Artisan / TMD-56 -> stock thermocouples

Discuss roast levels and profiles for espresso, equipment for roasting coffee.
badperson

#1: Post by badperson »

Hi Guys,
I am the new ecstatic owner of a quest M3. I have only done 2 roasts so far, just tracking the temp by manually entering into a spreadsheet. The new TMD-56 arrived last night and I started playing with it, having some driver issues.

The stock K-Type thermocouples that it came with are clearly not set up for the roaster; there are just loose wire with plastic over the end. I have searched on this site and the EricS thermocouples look to be the way to go, so will likely order that today.

In the meantime, can I make any use of the stock thermocouples? For the short term was going to try simply marking an equivalent length of the end of the wire, sticking it in and using some tape. Obviously not a long term thing, but will be ok for a week or so?

thanks!

Nunas
Supporter ♡

#2: Post by Nunas »

I'd expect the beans thrashing about in the drum would tear hell out of the wire thermoprobes.

badperson (original poster)

#3: Post by badperson (original poster) »

I actually tried it and it wasn't too bad the first roast. I wedged the thermocouple in and held it in place with a piece of cloth, I pushed it in so it was moving around with the drum and then pulled back til it was still. I did that with both BT and ET. On the first batch the temps seemed ok; 1st crack right at about 400F and 2nd at 4:20 or so.

Probably not super accurate but I think can work in a pinch until my custom thermocouples arrive.

amh0001

#4: Post by amh0001 »

HI Badperson,

Seems like we are in the same boat. I just recently bought an M3 and got the amprob and erics thermos. I chose the alternate been placement prob, but I dont think you could go wrong with either one. I am still trying to get the hang of roasting on the quest. I have a whole thread with some good info.