A Place To Share Artisan Logs

Discuss roast levels and profiles for espresso, equipment for roasting coffee.
fishll

#1: Post by fishll »

Hey all,

I am currently a student learning web-based development and as an avid coffee roaster and long time home barista, I've been thinking of ways to merge these passions. I am working on building an open-source website that would be all about sharing roast logs. Once a new user signs up they can upload their roast log in a JSON format. From there you would be able to browse other roasts seeing not just the curve but other pertinent info such as total roast time, development time... and if you liked the roast, you could download the JSON file and load it into Artisan as a background curve.

So I would love to hear your thoughts on this as far as features that would be beneficial to the community or specific points of data that you would look for if you were browsing for a 'good' roast. Again this is all about sharing information and hopefully helping everyone to roast better coffee.

With that being said, I am looking to initially populate the database with real data, this data would be removed before the site goes to production and is only for testing purposes. But if you care to help, please reach out to me so I can receive a few of your roasts in the JSON format. This can easily be done in Artisan by navigating to File > Export > Artisan JSON

Thank you!

CarefreeBuzzBuzz
Supporter

#2: Post by CarefreeBuzzBuzz »

How are you going to index/tag them? Info in the .json files like drop temp?

The one thing that many people don't do is completely fill out the Roast Properties dialog so you may be lacking the basic bean name or density etc. Maybe something like this might get more people interested.

What more can you tell us?
CarefreeBuzzBuzz
___
Artisan Quick Start Guide
http://bit.ly/ArtisanQuickStart

SJM

#3: Post by SJM »

There used to be a place.
I think it was called ArtisanCoffeeAlliance ???