My "new" 5kg Turkish roaster has arrived - Page 15

Discuss roast levels and profiles for espresso, equipment for roasting coffee.
TomC
Team HB

Postby TomC » Jan 11, 2019, 2:34 am

I'd try to repeat the same charge temp, same bean load, leave your damper open at 50-70%. If you're not sailing thru FC before your previous 10 minute mark, it might be inadequate BTU. Your ET held well throughout, so I wouldn't immediately turn my attention to the burners, from that profile at least.

If your repeat profile with dampers opened more (don't get fancy, keep it simple and consistent), give you more sag in your ET and no significant change in roast finish times, then it's likely underpowered.

I'm not a fan of Turkish roasters, I got rid of mine after a few years of fiddling and never being satisfied with them. By and large, they're very spotty in terms of build quality. But I have no experience with this manufacturer, so for all I know, this one might be built better.

Almico

Postby Almico » Jan 11, 2019, 6:39 am

Thanks, Tom. I tried all kinds of air settings and nothing boosted the heat. It has to be the nozzles. The mfg told me that the max BTU for this roaster is 75,000. With #55 jets the max BTU IS 18.9K X 3 nozzles = 56K BTU. I need 25K per nozzle, so a #53 drill instead of the #55 that I used should do the trick. Hard to believe .0075" can make a 25% difference in BTU, but it seems so. I'm tempted to go up to a 1/16" bit for almost 82K BTU, but let's try and keep it in spec first.

Clint Orchuk

Postby Clint Orchuk » Jan 11, 2019, 2:43 pm

~18000 BTU on a 5 kilo roaster is vastly under powered. Triple that sounds like it would be in the ballpark. It's definitely what's causing the long roasts with higher charge loads and the inability to maintain a consistent delta BT curve.

Almico

Postby Almico » replying to Clint Orchuk » Jan 11, 2019, 3:14 pm