How do you use Artisan?

Discuss roast levels and profiles for espresso, equipment for roasting coffee.
SJM

#1: Post by SJM »

My question is aimed at people like myself who roast for themselves, not for people who are roasting for sale or other distribution.

Artisan was probably the most valuable tool in my arsenal when I started learning how to control the HUKY. I saved and examined every profile not to compare to taste, but to learn how each change of heat or air affected the shape of the roast.

Now that I have learned how to roast beans the way I want them, I have discovered that choosing a good bean is the most important factor, and that within fairly loose parameters, a general profile works all the time.

So....I watch the Artisan screen like a hawk and make adjustments as I think necessary. Then once I drop the roast I just delete the profile. It has no use to me after that anymore.

I couldn't live without it since I now have no other access to the temperatures in the various parts of my HUKY, and I still hold it in the highest regard, but it's function as my guide has changed completely since a year or two ago when I first got the HUKY.

So....how is Artisan most useful to you? Remember, the answer to this question is only relevant here if you are just roasting for yourself, which assumes you probably don't buy more than 5-10 # of the same bean at most and are under no obligation to provide the same roast over and over.

Full Disclosure: I posted this on the HUKY forum and got but one response, so I locked that thread and posted here to see if there was any more interest in the subject .....

Advertisement
kwantfm

#2: Post by kwantfm »