How Do I Get More Flavor Out of My Roasts?

Discuss roast levels and profiles for espresso, equipment for roasting coffee.
DavidZ

#1: Post by DavidZ »

I'm a newbie to roasting. I'm frustrated with retail roasted coffee in a few ways, including old roast dates. After trying about 50 different kinds of coffee from a wide variety of sources, I have settled on 4 that I like. I call these my final 4. To me, these are the best of the best, mindful that it's a subjective judgement. Nonetheless, I have some frustrations even with my final 4.

To address these frustrations, I bought a Behmor 1600 Plus. My goal is to roast coffee that I'd prefer to sip over my final 4. While my first few roasts are very respectable, I haven't yet achieved my goal.

I'm a medium roast guy. I definitely don't like dark roast. Dark roast smells and tastes burnt to me. I'm not looking for dark roast smell or taste. I'm looking for real coffee flavor and smell.

Here's my roasting technique:

1) I roast 1/4 pound at a time
2) I use the roast profile on the Behmor that's recommended for the particular bean (P1 to P5)
3) At start of 1C, I typically hit P3 to switch to manual mode at 50% power
4) I continue about 3 minutes after the start of 1C at 50% power before hitting Cool
5) At 1:30 into cooling, I remove the drum and restart the cool cycle.
6) I cool the beans by tossing them between 2 colanders

Judging from the color, my roasts are typically City to Full City.

So, I'm trying to figure out how to get more flavor from my roast. Also, I want to be overwhelmed by the amazing aroma when I open the bag.

happycat

#2: Post by happycat »

It's not clear what you feel is missing.

It's also not clear what you feel is "real coffee flavour and smell"

You don't refer to flavours, acidity, or sweetness at all

I'm not familiar with the Behmor. I don't know whether your technique may result in baking your roast or crashing it. Is there any temperature readout that you monitor?