Hottop KN-8828B-2K+ First Roast - El Salvador

Discuss roast levels and profiles for espresso, equipment for roasting coffee.
newguy1

#1: Post by newguy1 »

hey everyone im new here but hope to become more active. I purchased rte Hottop and have been using it this weekend... ive become really passionate about it since reading the coffee roasters companion..... please give me some feedback if any... thx!

the coffee tasted good not being bias ;)

RobertL

#2: Post by RobertL »

I would try to shorten the time to end of drying, eight minutes is a long time.

Advertisement
newguy1 (original poster)

#3: Post by newguy1 (original poster) »

thanks rob!

#4: Post by newguy1 (original poster) »

RobertL wrote:I would try to shorten the time to end of drying, eight minutes is a long time.
hey rob ignore the start i was late hitting the 'start' key... but take alook:

is this better? thx!

LCProaster

#5: Post by LCProaster »

Im new to roasting myself. I'v been roasting on my Hottop 2k+ for about 3 months. My roasts have been turning out descent. I have read here on HB to keep my ET around 400°F and that has been helping. Also have you read The Coffee Roasters Companion yet? Its a great piece of info and a good starting poit for us newbies.

#6: Post by newguy1 (original poster) »

nice to meet you dude! yes i am just coming to the end i will be reading it constantly! just got my colombian greens :)

LCProaster

#7: Post by LCProaster »

Hey, Newguy1.
How have your roasts been going?
I usuall keep heat at 100% till after dry then down to 80% then drop heat again at and also some times before 1st crack. With the fan i use 20 - 50% at 212° for 30 - 60 seconds then something like 20% at the end of dry 50% at start of firts crack then 100% as 1st gets rolling then i cut the heat. Sometimes i lift the rear filter or remove it completely if i feel like my BT is shooting to high for my target development time.