Home roasters, not small business owners: Do you sell or give away coffee?

Discuss roast levels and profiles for espresso, equipment for roasting coffee.
Case17

#1: Post by Case17 »

I have been home roasting for ~8 years. I never went into this to make money, just to drink good coffee... but like most of us, I eventually considered it. I am not really looking to start any sort of serious small business. My day job is my main focus and I don't really want to detract from that. But, if friends/family wanted to buy from me, then I would do it. I have an Aillio Bullet (1kg) and so I can crank out a fair bit of coffee (for a home roaster; not talking about a full fledged small business here).

Right now, I give away a fair bit of coffee. I regularly give it to parents and parents-in-law, on occasion with extended relatives, and about once a year (Xmas) to coworkers. At one point I was considering selling to family, but when we floated the idea, they didn't want to pay what I thought was a reasonable price ($16/lb). The price is a steal (they love my coffee), but they think all coffee should have a similar price to mass-produced starbucks, so I dropped it. I could have explained the economics of how things work, but didn't want to dig into it with family. Instead, I resigned to simply give it away as an occasional gift. I simply don't have motivation to spend a ton of time roasting if I'm not compensated for it, and especially not if someone thinks it is overpriced due to their lack of familiarity of Starbucks vs small-scale.

Anyways, I'm just curious how people have broached the subject with friends and/or family. I am pretty nervous about making people feel pressured. I'd only want to sell them coffee if they are actually interested.

Marcelnl

#2: Post by Marcelnl »

your story makes sense, I haven't considered selling any but do occasionally give coffee away to folks who I know (or suspect they might) appreciate it.