Help roasting with a Bullet R1

Discuss roast levels and profiles for espresso, equipment for roasting coffee.
Acorazza

#1: Post by Acorazza »

Hi everyone. Longtime laker but haven't posted yet. I recently took delivery of a Bullet R1 and I just attempted my first roast. It went terrible. Let me preface by saying that I have been roasting for a few months on a Quest M3 and have put around 12 lbs through it. That however is a completely different roaster than the Bullet seems to be. I have a few questions regarding the Bullet.

First I got it used and cleaned it up before I started including the squirrel fan and the IR sensor. Chances are i could have messed something up but here what just happened.

I preheated the roaster in preheat mode. I noticed that unlike my Quest which I heated with high airflow, the fan was not on at all during preheat. Is this normal? Also the roaster started to smoke from the trier and front faceplate. No fire but it seemed pretty possible I preheat to around 350F . Thinking this was normal I charged my beans 350grams. My preheat temp was most likely too high but what happened next worried me. The beans started charring heavily and i was hearing cracks. I dumped the beans after about 2 minutes and they were very unevenly roasted but many of them hit first crack. I dumped it because i thought they were gonna go on fire.

This entire experience felt like my days of popper roasting. Im sure i did something wrong here so I'm looking for some guidance. Also I don't have the software yet because Im not a Windows guy but I'm going to install it tomorrow.

Can anyone help me out I really wanted to roast but Im nervous to turn it back on at this point.

Advertisement
Acorazza (original poster)

#2: Post by Acorazza (original poster) »

This is the roast

sight

#3: Post by sight »

No experience with the R1 but is the temperature read out in C or F? 350C = 662F

#4: Post by Acorazza (original poster) »