Greens Alert - Page 142

Discuss roast levels and profiles for espresso, equipment for roasting coffee.
false1001

#1411: Post by false1001 »

bradm wrote:This was my first attempt at the Colombian Gesha:

I have no experience with this type of coffee. That said: These beans are obviously a mix of two types. Their unrosted appearance is different, and they yellow very differently. They also needed more heat early in the roast to keep up with a reference temperature curve I took from a washed Guatemalan. As you can see the RoR was pretty bumpy during FC, part of which may have been caused by my late attempt at a "gas" dip. RoR was still pretty high at drop, but I wanted to start with a light roast per SM recommendations.

My "cupping" notes (pour-overs):

Day 1: Sour and vegetal: green apple peel and fresh baby spinach. Strange savory note. Pretty terrible.

Day 2: Still a sour start, but the baby spinach has faded. Hints of fruit and carmel sweetness in finish, after cooling. Better, but a long way to go.

I'm hoping this roast just needs time to improve, but would also very much appreciate some suggestions / criticism for ideas how to modify the profile for the next try.

Thanks! - Brad
Try charging a good bit hotter (220-ish) but reducing heat applied during the roast. Your maillard is way too short for a bean of this type. Stick with a single fan speed while dialing in a coffee, and only adjust fan to increase convection or tame a spike/crash around 1C.

false1001

#1412: Post by false1001 »

COSTA RICA SAN RAFAEL CARLOS FERNÁNDEZ MORERA ANAEROBIC FERMENTATION CROWN JEWEL

https://royalcoffee.com/product/cj1352/

Looks really good....

LBIespresso
Supporter ❤

#1413: Post by LBIespresso »