Gene roast profiles?

Discuss roast levels and profiles for espresso, equipment for roasting coffee.
Spironski

#1: Post by Spironski »

Okay, I'm a newbie on roasting. I searched this forum, but couldn't find my answers. So here are my questions:

- Does anybody have some nice basic roast profiles for the Gene Cafe roaster?

- Is there some sort of temperature off set for the Gene?

I tried some of the profiles I found on HB, but it seemed that the temperatures mentioned, did not match what I found on my Gene. For example when someone said first crack should be found at 215C after 10 minutes (or so), on my machine it would only occur at 230C (and thus after 12 minutes). You can imagine that my first attempt was a 18 minutes roast, with a slow ramp :oops: (coffee tastes good, though).

So to me, it seemes that the readout shows like 15-20 degrees Celsius higher on the Gene, than it is actually in the coffee itself (something to do with airflow temp. whatever??). Is this true? Or should I read the profiles found here exactely, and copy them to my Gene?

Hope you can help me with this,

Thanks in advance.

billm3

#2: Post by billm3 »

The only "profile" that I use is full heat.... the whole time.

I get the best results when I pre-heat the drum all the way to 482F (250C, the maximum), unplug it, pull out the drum, fill with pre-measured green coffee, put back in the machine, plug back in, turn on and roast at 482F/250C until the first few snaps of second crack. I have gotten my pre-heat and roasting re-start routine down to about 10 seconds, but be careful while doing this.

With this method, 1st crack is approximately at 8 minutes, 2nd starts around 12-15, depending on the beans. When I first re-start the Gene after adding the beans, the temp goes down to 400F/200C, then slowly comes back to about 455-470F/235-243C where second crack starts and I begin the cool cycle.