First batch of home roasted beans using oven - lacking aroma

Discuss roast levels and profiles for espresso, equipment for roasting coffee.
hal9001

#1: Post by hal9001 »

I'm just starting out with roasting. I do not own an actual roaster however, but I have a decent hot air oven. Yesterday I did my first batch in the oven. Unfortunately, the both the flavor/aroma and the good smell from the roasted beans is lacking quite a bit. I figured maybe it just needed to rest, but after 1 day, it's still quite flat aroma-wise. I use the beans in espresso.

Anyhow, then I started reading up a bit.. a lot of people were talking about baked coffee beans. The descriptions matched my experience quite well - a flat taste. I saw a lot of articles talking about roasting profiles, which I do not have the equipment to control anyway.

Here's what I did, step by step (note to self is to time more accurately ;)):
- For my first batch, I pre-heated the oven to 160C (320F).
- Then, I spread the beans (200 grams) on a baking sheet (no overlap), and set the oven temperature to 220C (428F). The temperature were reached after probably about 3-4 min. After about 9-10 minutes I heard the first crack start. At about 12 minutes I took the beans out. Could be that was a bit early.
- I then cooled the beans by bouncing them around a bit in a kitchen sieve. It did take a while to cool them thoroughly.
- Finally I put the beans on a glass with a loose lid to allow the gas to escape.

It's my first try, and although the result was not great, I'm eager to improve. Which is why I'm here with a bunch of questions before I try again! :D
- Is my problem related to temperature? Should I use a higher temperature? Do I need to gradually increase temperature (which I can do in 5C increments on my oven)? Or is the issue something else?
- Could the problem be that I stopped the roast too early? There definitely were smoke when I took them out, but the beans are definitely not dark roasted.