Exploring North Gas Roaster Automation: Part 1

Discuss roast levels and profiles for espresso, equipment for roasting coffee.
slickrock

#1: Post by slickrock »

Intro:

I've been procrastinating and promising drgary for nearly two years to post on my journey of roaster automation with my 1KG gas roaster. Its been a worthwhile endeavor for me to automate my rig and I've bean doing automated profile roasting for over two years now. (I used to leverage my time on public transportation to write detailed reviews, but my recent business clients require driving on my part, so I've had less time to dedicate to new write-ups). There is really nothing novel here about PID-automating a roaster in these forum circles, but automating a gas roaster is different: there are entailments related to automating gas flow in a drum roaster along with the challenging characteristics of PID tracking on heftier solid drum roasters that exhibit more sluggish power response driving changes in BT.

The roaster in question that I automated happens to be the North TJ-067. I can probably be counted as an early adopter of this roaster, basically before Mill City became the fully established US distributor of North roasters that it is now, and before the TJ-067 became a mainstay in roaster circles over the last few years. Interestingly, for me at least, it was my interest in roaster automation that initially drew me to this model. However, this topic should be of interest and applicable to anyone considering automation for the their own manual gas drum roaster, irrespective of make and model (even down to the Huky and it's equivalents).

Evolution of Interest in Automation: