Decreasing ROR Question

Discuss roast levels and profiles for espresso, equipment for roasting coffee.
thestevenlee

#1: Post by thestevenlee »

I am new to tracking roast profiles and roasting with an actual roaster that is not a HGBM set-up where I would simply time myself had try to hit my events by certain times.

I am roasting on a Quest M6 and typically charge 350g of coffee. I am 10 roasts in and feel a little more confident already, but obviously still have a TON to learn. My first few roasts were super fast, then super long. Now I can hit "most" of my event times, BUT my ROR is all over the place. I feel like if I charge and have an initial temp that hits my dry time, then I lose momentum to first crack and have to add heat. If I charge and have higher heat then I feel like I fly through my dry phase and have to much momentum that leads me to hit 1st crack fast at like 6min and dropping at 8min when I originally want to hit 1st crack.

I feel like my ROR drops really fast after charge, then almost stabilizes and plateaus, with the occasional decline and rise. I can post some profiles for future roasts if that will help you help me lol, but I figure I would ask before spamming images. I have charged at 390For 400F with the turning point typically 0:55 into roast at 190ish degrees. I know some people don't really look at ROR and mainly worry about event times, but I would like to work on having a steadily decreasing ROR.

Dokkie

#2: Post by Dokkie »

It sounds like there is not enough heat input at the start of the roast. Try the charge temperature that gets you the drying time you want, but give your heating elements more power. At dry end you can easily start decreasing the heat. This should prevent the plateauing of the ROR.

thestevenlee

#3: Post by thestevenlee »

I think my charge temp is to high and not allowing me to apply the heat I need at the start. I will try a few with a lower charge temp, but then apply more heat at the start.

Dokkie