Cupping - next day after roasting?

Discuss roast levels and profiles for espresso, equipment for roasting coffee.
swder

#1: Post by swder »

Hi roasters, I am new at this here. May I know whats the purpose of cupping the next day after roasting?

I read that the flavours of the coffee can still be muted and will taste grassy at this point and will take a few days more to develop.If that is so, what are we trying to get here?

I have also been advised to only cup the next day, after that, we should brew our coffee instead of cupping.

Do you practice this as well?

Rickpatbrown

#2: Post by Rickpatbrown »

I am by no means an expert on cupping, but I have regularly started to incorporate the practise into my strategy. I have started roasting 1 bean 3 different ways, testing a variable (charge temp, roast length, development %, etc.).

Cupping is mainly to identify roasting outcomes, it's not to taste the best flavor coffee. That being said, I havent had a "bad" cupping roast turn into a "good" brew.

It also seems that roasting errors are even more prominent the day after. I'm not overwhelmed with the great coffee flavors. They are there, just subdued. I've waited a couple days after roasting and it's a bit harder to determine some differences (but maybe that experiment didnt yield huge taste differences... I dont have a ton of experience). Roasty, bitter notes are particularly more obvious and they seem to subdue a few days off roast.

It is also for consistency and gives you quickest feedback. Especially, if you were production roasting, you'd want to know right away how your roast went. For home roasters, we dont want to wait 1 day sometimes and 4 days others. It will be even harder ri compare our results. The name of the game for cupping is consistency.