Arc 800g Sample Roaster

Discuss roast levels and profiles for espresso, equipment for roasting coffee.
simplycoffie

Postby simplycoffie » Feb 24, 2019, 8:17 pm

Hello fellow members,

Been roasting with the arc for 2 weeks now (received it 2 weeks ago) and i am producing some amazing coffee!

I have lots of experience roasting with Fujiroyal 5kg, Kapok 5kg, Kapok 1kg roasters, with that said, one thing i noticed was their temperature probe gives an accurate and instant reading, versus the arc roaster's temperature probe, it gives unsteady reading and shows slow response, (ie, going back and forth on the temperature reading, or it would skip several degrees when temperature is rising) which causes me to have to guess how long it takes for the LCD screen to update new temp reading or how many degrees is going to show up on the next reading.

From what i can tell from the Arc website, it shows they are using K-type probe, but does not specify what diameter.

What can i do to improve the accuracy of temp reading and responsiveness?

I am all ears to hear suggestions on this problem i am facing.

TIA!

-Eric

hankua

Postby hankua » Feb 24, 2019, 9:22 pm

Hi there, and the Arc looks to be a sweet machine. If I'm not mistaken it's produced by HB in China. http://hb-roaster.com

It sounds like maybe more of a software or setup problem than the probes, but just a wild guess. I had a problem with a delayed data response from my Amprobe meter, and it ended up being the ghost MET setup in the Artisan program. It looks like the Arc uses a USB data bridge, that's where I'd start troubleshooting the setup parameters. Otherwise a call into Arc in NY or HB in China.

EddyQ

Postby EddyQ » Feb 24, 2019, 10:52 pm

simplycoffie wrote:From what i can tell from the Arc website, it shows they are using K-type probe, but does not specify what diameter.

What can i do to improve the accuracy of temp reading and responsiveness?