2kg Electric roaster

Discuss roast levels and profiles for espresso, equipment for roasting coffee.
MM1

#1: Post by MM1 »

I've been roasting on my 2kg electric roaster for about 3 months and have nothing but issues with it. When I purchased the roaster gas wasn't an option but now it is and I'm thinking about modifying the roaster. The main issue that I have is the lag time of the heating elements. They have a response time of about 1.5 minutes so I'm sticking using the airflow to control my RoR. The machine also recently had a solid state relay get stuck and before that it was burning up bearings before I made some modifications. The machine has a perforated drum so I was thinking about using IR burners or using a heat shield with black pipe burners to help heat dissipate and not scorch the beans. I guess what I'm looking for is some input on a burner setup for a perforated drum or ideas to improve the heating elements. It is currently using 5 800 watt tubular elements.

drgary
Team HB

#2: Post by drgary »

If this helps I have a North 1 Kg roaster and the only one of its kind with a perforated drum. The gas jets are located as usual for the solid drum version. No problem. It helps that the drum rotation speed can be adjusted so beans don't spend too much time over a hot drum or flame. Bella Taiwan gas roasters can also be equipped with a perforated drum. So if you look at the specs for a gas drum roaster handling 2 Kg, the number of the gas jets and their distance from the drum should be a good guideline.
Gary
LMWDP#308

What I WOULD do for a good cup of coffee!

Advertisement
keno

#3: Post by keno »

+1 to what DrGary said.

I think the IR burners might be a good idea as they are a little more gentle than a direct flame burner which may make the IR burners preferable with a perforated drum. Many Huky roasters use a perforated drum and that roaster is supplied with an IR propane stove.