1st Huky roast

Discuss roast levels and profiles for espresso, equipment for roasting coffee.
leozava
Supporter ♡

#1: Post by leozava »

I did a 455g batch of Brazilian Santos tonight on my new huky. what do you guys think??? im just getting started and this is actually my first time roasting on any roaster. my chaff collector was full and I removed and cleaned it, I think that's why my MET is a little all over the place

TomC
Team HB

#2: Post by TomC »

Obviously, the results in the cup are what matters most. Without having something to compare to, or much to go on, a graph won't give too much objective information that you can use for feedback, but I'd be willing to bet you could get better results in a shorter total roast time. That much time after 1st crack probably flattened a lot of flavors and sweetness. I'll be curious to hear your impressions though.

You might want to consider mapping your ROR.
Join us and support Artisan Roasting Software=https://artisan-scope.org/donate/

Advertisement
summer

#3: Post by summer »

Check http://www.hukyforum.com/
Lots of info on your new roaster!

genecounts

#4: Post by genecounts »

Hope you are roasting for espresso.
Great advice about looking at HukyForum. When you get over there lots of newbies and first roast advice. You really need to get into Artisan again and refine your settings. Your graph is really hard to interpret as is.
There is a great ABC in setting up Artisan that this lowly novice was able to follow.

rgrosz

#5: Post by rgrosz »

Here are some artisan options that you might want to try to improve your graph.
Menu / Config / Axes
By changing the axes, you'll "zoom in" on the relevant area
Menu / Tools / Extras
Smoothing the curves a bit eliminates excess noise

LMWDP #556
Life is too short to drink bad wine - or bad coffee

SJM

#6: Post by SJM »

Also consider checking that Linear Projection box. It will give you an idea of where your roast is headed and time to make corrections in advance.