Weber Key Grinder - Page 76

Grinders are one of the keys to exceptional espresso. Discuss them here.
Jshot
Supporter ♡

#751: Post by Jshot »

Good catch!! ^^ look forward to his review!!

Auctor

#752: Post by Auctor »

Feca wrote:This is precisely why I backed out of my crowd funding order months ago, don't trust the long shaft design. I hope it works for everyone who got one though, I just would be constantly doubting whether the shaft is centered/straight or not!
While I'm not an engineer, I really struggle with this argument. There are hundreds, if not thousands of HG-1s and Versalabs M4s in the wild that use a long shaft design, and yet there aren't dozens of complaints about bent shafts, alignment problems, or quality in the cup issues.

I feel like this argument was made up by a bunch of conceptual engineers who could see a *possible* design flaw and improvement, and they may even have a particle distribution graph showing how things have changed. Combine it with a couple of loud anecdotes of a broken grinder. Yet absolutely no categorical proof that the machine is compromised, or that the espresso or brewed coffee is materially impacted.

You could argue that the Kafatek MC4 is better (I have a Max and enjoy it immensely), but even Denis himself won't reveal the results of a particle distribution graph on his own grinders, and has repeatedly said that the doesn't believe that the science there is proven. Weber has said similar things. What Denis HAS said, which benefits his bottom line, is that he doesn't like the long shaft design. But with no documented proof as to why his design is better outside of the conceptual realm.

MOTOKI000

#753: Post by MOTOKI000 »

I am an engineer, and there is no doubt that a longer shaft is a disadvantage for accuracy. It's just a disadvantage.
As for the particle size distribution, I think people are a little too concerned about it since the graphs and such were published when the EK43 was in the limelight.