Weber Key Grinder - Page 16

Grinders are one of the keys to exceptional espresso. Discuss them here.
Jshot
Supporter ♡

#151: Post by Jshot »

All agree that it's a slick video. Much went into it. You assume the company approves all aspects of this first video before release.

I watched before any commentary was made and when I heard the grinder start up my immediate response was not positive. Not positive at all.

I'm no expert and cannot speculate on why it sounded the way it did. The only one who can answer is Weber, so I'll ask them.

TenLayers
Supporter ♡

#152: Post by TenLayers »

And that Decent! Sounded like a machine gun! And the steaming of the milk was a like a screaming eagle in full dive. Come on, people, the sound is turned up to 11.

ira
Team HB

#153: Post by ira »

I've heard no one complain about the volume of the Weber Key, just about the sound.

Ira

TenLayers
Supporter ♡

#154: Post by TenLayers »

I was referring to the sound as well, not volume. Not saying it was the right or wrong approach from a marketing approach, just that the sound is unnaturally tweaked.

Legend_217

#155: Post by Legend_217 »

From marketing approach they did a terrible job of editing video. Extraction look horrible and the guy barely tamped the puck

LBIespresso
Supporter ❤

#156: Post by LBIespresso »

Jshot wrote:Hey, if you or any other HB'rs are on island, stop by for a coffee. More the better.

I'm mostly using medium roasts for lattes so the conical (Niche) has been good for me. Aside from grind quality, retention and workflow are also important. I see the Key as an improvement on those three factors but open to any other grinders in that price range.