Using static to reduce microgrounds

Grinders are one of the keys to exceptional espresso. Discuss them here.
mnitachke

#1: Post by mnitachke » Dec 01, 2019, 3:41 pm

Hi!

I'm new to the HB forms, but have been obsessing over coffee and coffee products for awhile.

Are there any grinders out there that use static beneficially, specifically to try and remove microgrounds? Im not sure if there is a way to control static charge, but if you could guide coffee through a statically charged chute, I feel like this would be a good way of collecting undesirable microgrounds.

Just wondering if a product like this is already out there somewhere.

TomC
Team HB

#2: Post by TomC » Dec 01, 2019, 3:55 pm

At work, I intentionally skip the RDT step, and let the static cling the fine chaff and ultra fine particles on the inside of the grinder/grinder cup so they're left out of the brew. I seal the cup back on, give it a tap and put it away for the next brew, where all the static has discharged and all the fine chaff and powder now simply dumps out into the trash.

sweaner
Supporter ♡

#3: Post by sweaner » Dec 01, 2019, 6:22 pm

Why do you feel that the "microgrinds" are a problem?
First time that I heard that word.
Scott
LMWDP #248

Yan

#4: Post by Yan » Dec 01, 2019, 8:23 pm

TomC wrote:At work, I intentionally skip the RDT step, and let the static cling the fine chaff and ultra fine particles on the inside of the grinder/grinder cup so they're left out of the brew. I seal the cup back on, give it a tap and put it away for the next brew, where all the static has discharged and all the fine chaff and powder now simply dumps out into the trash.