Tiny motors on new grinders?

Grinders are one of the keys to exceptional espresso. Discuss them here.
Miguchi

#1: Post by Miguchi »

Why do people pay for machines like the eg1 or monolith grinders when they have such tiny motors? As an engineer, I don't see why these machines cost so much compared to a Ditting lab grinder which have superior components for less. Are people fine with overpaying for design?

drgary
Team HB

#2: Post by drgary »

I haven't seen complaints about these grinders being underpowered. Have you?
Gary
LMWDP#308

What I WOULD do for a good cup of coffee!

CafelatStore: home of Cafelat products online
Sponsored by CafelatStore
megamixman

#3: Post by megamixman »

Lab Sweet - 650W
EG-1 - 770W
Monolith Max - Peak 2000W

How are you coming to the conclusion that these grinders are underpowered?

Prodigy

#4: Post by Prodigy »

This should get interesting quick...

blumes

#5: Post by blumes »

brushless motor vs induction motor

happycat

#6: Post by happycat »

Miguchi wrote:Why do people pay for machines like the eg1 or monolith grinders when they have such tiny motors? As an engineer, I don't see why these machines cost so much compared to a Ditting lab grinder which have superior components for less. Are people fine with overpaying for design?
I'm guessing you're not married.
LMWDP #603
★ Helpful

Jake_G
Team HB

#7: Post by Jake_G »

megamixman wrote:Lab Sweet - 650W
EG-1 - 770W
Monolith Max - Peak 2000W

How are you coming to the conclusion that these grinders are underpowered?
Monolith max has a 200W motor.

Nothing wrong with that when it has a 10:1 reduction gearbox attached.

Cheers!

- Jake
LMWDP #704

Weber Workshops: tools for building better coffee
Sponsored by Weber Workshops
malling

#8: Post by malling »

Have you ever heard of anyone having issues with the motor in those grinders? I haven't.

Miguchi (original poster)

#9: Post by Miguchi (original poster) »