Thought on single dosing Mazzer Robur E after a few months

Grinders are one of the keys to exceptional espresso. Discuss them here.
samuellaw178
Supporter ♡

#1: Post by samuellaw178 »

The past consensus on the forum regarding Robur E was it's not suited for single dosing operation. Vberch (Vlad) has been using one for single dosing and found it suitable. Based on his recommendation, I have been using one for almost 6 months now and would like to offer some thoughts.

Today I decided to clean the Robur and measure the retention. The last clean up was 3 months ago and I've been using the Robur 3x at the minimum daily since.

How it looks underneath immediately after removing the collar:

Close up:

Cleaned and collect everything in a wide ceramic cup:

As shown in the photo, the retention is so minimal that the Brewista couldn't register it. I had to measure it separately and it came up to 0.5g. That's including the baked-on coffee on the burrs surface. Almost negligible considering I sometimes lose more than that on other grinders.

Here're a few points:

Greatness:
i) Fast - quite fast for single dosing (even faster using a hopper but let's not go there)
ii) Quiet - it produces a slightly different/lower pitch than K30. Based on my wife's feedback, the Robur is even quieter than K30 - the K30 woke her but the Robur didn't. Compared to other grinders I have used in the past, this is hands down one of the quietest electric grinder (secondary only to Rosco Mini which is a hand grinder).
iii) No retention - with a spray or two (RDT), retention is almost zero and minimal fuss.
iv) Consistent - initially I had problem with consistency/adjustment but found out later that the blind shaking technique was messing up my consistency. The Robur's been performing predictably and consistently after I eliminate the shaking technique.
v) Grind consistency, refractometer measurement, taste etc - I can't tell apart easily from the Pharos so it is good enough for me.