Switching from flat to conical grinder?

Grinders are one of the keys to exceptional espresso. Discuss them here.
Moxiechef
Supporter ♡

#1: Post by Moxiechef »

I've been running a Monolith Flat for the last three years or so. Truly a great grinder.

The question is, should I switch to a conical, will things taste appreciably better? We drink mostly medium to medium-dark roast. Nossa Full Cycle to Blue Bottle Hayes Valley is kind of our roast range, rarely do we enjoy A roast much lighter than something like Passenger's Montecarlo.

Since Kafatek just announced his new conical, I thought it might be time to try them.

Thanks,

JB

another_jim
Team HB

#2: Post by another_jim »

The 75mm Eureka/Mythos flat used by earlier models is identical in taste to large conicals. I do not know about the SSP or Shuriken 75mm burrs. Nor do I know how the new Kafatek conical will taste. Unlike what all the mavens are telling you, not all flats taste clearly alike, nor all conicals bodily alike.
Jim Schulman

Jeff
Team HB

#3: Post by Jeff »

Jim is spot on.

What would you like to improve in the flavor of your espresso? Are there specific defects you'd like to reduce or things you'd like to bring out more strongly?

erik82

#4: Post by erik82 »

The greatest improvement in my experience is the superb consistency of big conical burrs. Tastewise for medium to medium-dark both are great and you don't need a flat burr grinder. I've owned a Eureka Olympus with the same burrs as your Kafatek and a perfectly aligned HG-1 and both do a great job but the conical does it so easily. If I buy medium or a bit darker roast I tend to favour my Commandante over the SSP burrs in my EG-1, but I must say they're an entire different beast compared to the burrs in your flat and are way more finicky to work with.