Super Jolly Doserless Parts Template [finished]

Grinders are one of the keys to exceptional espresso. Discuss them here.
sleepdance

#1: Post by sleepdance »

I bought an Astoria Super Jolly that didn't include a doser, so I've been working on a template to make the panels that cover the front of the unit. This should work for Mazzer & Astoria Super Jollies.

The template is available as an SVG file at: http://www.soulshadow.com/SJ/Template_Mazzer.svg (right click the link and save the file, then open it with Inkscape).

The picture below is to show the design only; use the SVG file to maintain the correct scale.
Large preview: http://www.soulshadow.com/SJ/Mazzer_Template.png

Disclaimer: I'm an archaeologist not an engineer, and I just made this based on a paper mock-up that I threw together.

Design Updated 10-3-2010: Chute removed, measurements fixed.

sleepdance (original poster)

#2: Post by sleepdance (original poster) »

Here's the finished product:

I ended up only using the above template only as a reference, because I had the help of a friend who knew how to work the aluminum without needing to cut multiple pieces. It's not the prettiest solution, but it works perfectly and will be repainted one day.

An aluminum cup was sacrificed for the chute, taking inspiration from the martini shaker mod https://www.coffeegeek.com/forums/espre ... nes/134026

mute

#3: Post by mute »

Interested in seeing how this turns out! I don't have a Mazzer, but it would be nice to be able to convert a doser to doserless without spending like $200.

#4: Post by sleepdance (original poster) »

I'll update the template when I settle on a final design. Luckily, all of the parts are flat shapes and will be easy to cut from a sheet of aluminum.

godlyone

#5: Post by godlyone »

LOL your original chute design looks like it caused a face full of coffee grinds

HB
Admin

#6: Post by HB »

Several years ago, Lino was working on a similar design: