Should I Mod The Mazzer?

Grinders are one of the keys to exceptional espresso. Discuss them here.
bushdoc
Supporter ♡

#1: Post by bushdoc »

Would it be a worthwhile investment to convert my mint condition Mazzer Mini Timer, thats been in storage for several years, to a 64mm doserless rig? Or would I be better off picking up something new in the sub 2k range?

Price for the Daniel Wong mod, upper and lower carriers, and a set of SSP burrs would run me about $600 all in.

I roast my own beans and prefer light to medium SO coffees. I mostly drink Moccamaster drip and pour over, but I occasionally use Aero, French Press, Moka Pot, and Chemex.

I've been using a Baratza Virtuoso for several years and it works ok for what I've been drinking, that is until I decided to get back into espresso and bought a Robot.

I've been making drinkable shots (if you add milk) but I definitely know that my grinder is my weakest link.

Appreciate any advice the group might be able to offer.

Jeff
Team HB

#2: Post by Jeff »

Workflow on something like a P64 is significantly better than a modded Mazzer. Whether that's $1,000 of value to you, I don't know.

See https://pocketsciencecoffee.com/2022/03 ... nkenjolly/ for some insight

Jonk

#3: Post by Jonk »

At $600, no - it's not exactly economical. At that price point I'd look into something new like DF64(V) or Timemore 064S.

Or you could just buy 58mm SSP burrs for $170 and use those in your Mazzer Mini as is. I single dose my Mini E - it's a little annoying to brush both the upper burr carrier and the chute, takes about a minute.. But hey, it's cheap 8)

Jimmy_The_Saint

#4: Post by Jimmy_The_Saint »

Slight bias here as I'm a longtime fan of Mazzer but I'm of the belief that Mazzers should be used as intended. They're fantastic grinders when used on-demand but really not so much used as single dosers. You can do it, but really there are far far better single dosers out there.