Questions about repainting Mazzer Super Jolly

Grinders are one of the keys to exceptional espresso. Discuss them here.
coffeebattie

#1: Post by coffeebattie »

Hello all,

this is my first post here however I read (and learnt) a lot on this site. Since a few days I've been busy restoring my Mazzer SJ. The grinder wasn't in a bad condition but I wanted to have another color and remove the little scratches. When i'm done with my restoration I will post my before- and after pictures;). This is my first project so I still have some questions,

Here are some pictures of how my grinder looks like right now;

I used sandgrit paper by hand and machinal, P180 P240 and P400

Is it really neccessary to remove the paint for 100%? Or can I start with some primer layers on the grinder.
I'm also still figuring out how to mask the mazzer logo correctly, the sides are hard to mask does anyone has a tip. I remember that I read that someone used woodglue here of vaseline, maybe someone has an even better tip.

turtle

#2: Post by turtle »

First, welcome to Home Barista!!!

The Mazzer body is aluminum

Paint and normal primer will NOT stick to aluminum

You will need to put down a layer of "etching primer" then a layer of standard automotive primer, wet sand with 600 grit, then the finish coat, and clear (if you want to clear coat).

http://www.phoenix-paints.co.uk/about-u ... imers.html
Mick - Drinking in life one cup at a time
I'd rather be roasting coffee

JohnB.
Supporter ♡

#3: Post by JohnB. »

I'm going to have to disagree with Mick as your standard automotive primer will stick to aluminum. Etching primers are typically used on steel that might rust under the primer. Along with restoring/repainting God knows how many motorcycles when I did that professionally I've also refurbished 9 or 10 old Starbucks Mazzers. No issues with the primer; 2 part or auto spray cans, adhering to the bare Mazzers.
LMWDP 267

rpetitho

#4: Post by rpetitho »