Owner experience with Baratza Vario

Grinders are one of the keys to exceptional espresso. Discuss them here.
Chert
Supporter ♡

#1: Post by Chert »

Two cents on the BV after 3-4 days use. I am making espresso with Zoka Paladino which I like very much. At least after ten shots, gradually tightening the grind, I can see that I will have to recalibrate toward finer grind. So far my Zassenhaus produces much tastier Paladino shots than the Vario, but I get out of the house to go to work much faster. Using the grinder with the portaholder housing removed, my counter is much cleaner. The funnels sold by Orphan Espresso make a great accessory for use with the La Pavoni.

...split from Baratza Vario Grinder - Second Look by moderator...
| |_
| LMWDP #198 |

kmills

#2: Post by kmills »

I'm a materials engineer! I just took a look at my Vario and its materials and I'd put a good bit of money on the three retaining tabs for the upper burrs carrier being made out of some GFRP or glass fiber reinforced polymer. GFRPs are identifiable by their unusually rough surface. A good example is the large chaff collector and lid for the Gene Cafe roaster. GFRPs are WAY stiffer than regular polymers and in general are tougher and stronger too. I can attest to this because a spent a good bit of my senior undergraduate time in an injection molding and materials testing lab watching parts get pulled to destruction (only 2 years ago). I can't comment on the mechanical design but the material is a good choice in terms of performance particularly when you consider that its a 20 cent part where as one milled out of steel or aluminum would cost $20 and not be much stiffer.

The burrs are really exciting too, Id bet they are yttria stabilized zirconia. I very tough (in a ceramic perspective) and very hard material which will last longer than any other part on the machine. Just don't feed it silicon carbide or diamonds.