Noisy La Cimbali Max Hybrid

Grinders are one of the keys to exceptional espresso. Discuss them here.
fnacer

#1: Post by fnacer »

I have a used La Cimbali Max Hybrid that I got when I bought an espresso machine several weeks ago. When I turned it on, the motor would spin for a fraction of a second then stop. I removed the hopper and found that the burrs were caked solid with grounds and Grindz.

I removed the flat burrs, cleaned everything and tried the motor. It and the conical burr spun just fine but the noise was unbearable (about the volume of a Vitamix blender on high speed). This isn't normal, is it? If not, any ideas on what the problem may be and how I go about quieting the motor?

ps: Anyone have a manual for this they can share? Thanks.

civ

#2: Post by civ »

Hello:
fnacer wrote: ... a used La Cimbali Max Hybrid that I got ...
Generally speaking (YMMV) buying a second hand grinder without knowing it's use and service history means having to carry out a mandatory clean-up/service routine.

And even then you may get a surprise or two.

My ca. 2000 Cimbali Max, which was practically new when I purchased it, actually jammed due to a bad lower bearing after less than 1.5 kg. of coffee through it's burrs. When I opened it up to change both bearings (no sense changing just one) I had to also tidy up a few manufacturing oversights, among them the one that affected one or two production runs and caused it to walk the counter while grinding.

WRT the bearings there's nothing special about them: they are one of the most common off the shelf specs and any machine/motor shop with a modicum of self respect will carry them.

In any case, a search here at HB will get you a whole lot of data/advice/photos, etc. to help you out.
fnacer wrote:This isn't normal, is it?
Actually, normal is a statistics term. =-)

But it really depends on the grinder motor and design.