Niche Zero & Mahlkonig X54 & Orphan Espresso Pharos

Grinders are one of the keys to exceptional espresso. Discuss them here.
brokenlungs

#1: Post by brokenlungs »

Ok friends,

Just thinking out loud as I've already purchased my new X54. It's arriving today. For the Cyber Monday price of 675 shipped i couldn't pass it up.

I have a Niche, i use it 1-2 times a day for the last 2 years. I recently picked an Orphan Espresso Pharos locally for cheap as well. I use the Niche exclusively for espresso, the Pharos for pour over. These are basically the two types I drink daily.

I work as a barista and have grown happy to having the convenience of a larger grinder with a hopper. That and the timed shots, the abilities to directly grind into the portafilter, and changing to something with a flat burr has gotten me on the X54 ride. AND its COOL haha.

But basically, am I in the overkill mode by adding the X54 to the mix? I dont tend to swap beans until its time to get new beans. So i dont see it being super annoying to have to empty the hopper or feel wasteful. I love the niche but sometimes between, the single dose, the cup, etc (minor complaints i know haha) it seems like it might be nice to just put my filter and and push the button and go.

I'm also thinking maybe if i feel the counter is getting too crowded i could either unload the Niche or the Pharos and rely exclusively on the x54 for my pour over and what not.

'Anyways does anyone else own a niche and x54?

LObin

#2: Post by LObin »

Good deal on the X54! It's a lot pricier here in Canada.

What would mostly annoy me is the fact that with 1-2 espresso per day, you'll have to purge the X54 pretty much everytime you use it. It's not something you need to do nearly as often in a coffee shop. Again, that's my own opinion, hence why I own 2 single dosing grinders. No more hoppers for me.