Niche Zero grinder - Page 144

Grinders are one of the keys to exceptional espresso. Discuss them here.
truemagellen

#1431: Post by truemagellen »

Qporzk wrote:Bengee,

Do you have any photos of your tool? I'm trying to figure out something a little nicer than shoving paperclips in a cork right now :lol:
Only my wife can see that. :shock:
★ Helpful

blondica73
Supporter ❤

#1432: Post by blondica73 »

bengee wrote:I have been using my Niche for about 2 months now. Awesome single dose grinder, no doubts! At first, I WDTed the ground coffee in the niche cup and then poured into my portafilter (PF) using an OE SS funnel. Reading the comments, I transitioned to the Niche method, from cup straight to PF, shake, then tamp (no WDT) and got nearly better results so stuck with that as it was a smoother operation. However, I was still noticing some channeling. So lately, I transitioned back to using the funnel, but this time WDTing the coffee grounds in the PF with a DIY Londinium-style (3 prongs) tool. The results speak for themselves. Wowzer. channeling is now very minimal. Highly recommended. In fact, I'd say WDT is essential, even with the Niche.
I too received my Niche about two months ago. I purchased a funnel and grind straight into the portafilter, then I WDT it using the Londinium tool. Results are very consistent and no channeling using my LM Linea Mini. I agree that WDT is essential to get consistent results. I WDT the coffee regardless of the grinder I use, the Eureka Olympus or the Niche Zero. I'm very happy with both grinders.

bengee

#1433: Post by bengee »

Qporzk wrote:Do you have any photos of your tool? I'm trying to figure out something a little nicer than shoving paperclips in a cork right now :lol: