Niche Zero grinder - Page 101

Grinders are one of the keys to exceptional espresso. Discuss them here.
theswede

#1001: Post by theswede »

Guess I will bite the bullet :shock:

Nick Name

#1002: Post by Nick Name replying to theswede »

I've been using Pharos for over three years - mostly with something that any non-Scandinavian would call light roasts.

It hasn't been a problem for me, but since I got the Niche Zero five months ago I must confess that I have been happier to make more and more espressos/cappuccinos per day. It makes a little difference if you only make one/two shots per day, but if you go beyond that it'll slowly start to get at you. Or maybe not, it depends on the physical abilities of oneself.

Quality wise the two are very similar, so it is only up to the decision if you like hand-grinding. I'd say it's a safe bet going with the Niche. You won't be thinking back whether you should have taken the different route. With the Pharos, there is always a small risk that you'd start thinking "what if I had spent a few huns more....?"

For the record, a few of my friends have not been too happy to grind light roasts with the Pharos. My wife also doesn't use it although she is happy to use the Lido (for coarser grinds) every day.

With that said, I'm still going to keep both my Niche and Pharos. Pharos won't need any electronics so there's a plus to be considered. :wink:

liquidmetal

#1003: Post by liquidmetal »

For those that did not see my other thread, could you report here if you are using a precision basket? (IMS, VST, Decent). I had horrible results with my decent, I switched back to stock and all of a sudden everything is fine...

TheN5OfOntario

#1004: Post by TheN5OfOntario »

20g VST on my Silvia and all is well. Even squeaking out drinkable stale I could never dream of pulling with my Vario.

Lilybell2

#1005: Post by Lilybell2 »