New Timemore Sculptor Grinders 064 064s 078 078s - Page 85

Grinders are one of the keys to exceptional espresso. Discuss them here.
Paolo

#841: Post by Paolo »

marcbrewcoffee wrote:I've been using the 078S for a few months now, and 1 issue I am facing now is the huge variation in shot times when slow feeding vs dumping all the beans in together at once.

For reference, I did slow feed at setting 1.0, got a shot time of 15s. Dumping beans at setting 1.0 choked fully, no yield. Continued to try dumping at 1.8, choked. Tried 2.0, got half the yield I wanted in 50+ seconds.

Anyone have the same issue? I tried dumping in as it takes time to slow feed, and it becomes really messy as well with grinds flying out.
What speed are you using?
I found inconsistency in times and flow when I was using higher speeds (1200-1400rpm) for espresso. It was frustrating.

As soon as I turned it down to 800 rpm both the flow and times became consistent.
I do hot starts and dump the beans...getting fabulous results. I see no need to alter the speed in my 078S.

I have had mine for 3 weeks now. I have done no burr seasoning and get no spritzing.

I am really happy with this grinder.

Jonk

#842: Post by Jonk »

marcbrewcoffee wrote:I've been using the 078S for a few months now, and 1 issue I am facing now is the huge variation in shot times when slow feeding vs dumping all the beans in together at once.
This is not an issue, but completely normal. Slow feeding should have an impact on flavor too, so either choose to do it or don't.

If static is the problem, try RDT or lower RPM.

dwarfboy1717

#843: Post by dwarfboy1717 »

078 here - after 1 lb seasoning, there's still a slight astringency when compared to my ZP6, but better balanced and more enjoyable cup in general.

I plan to season it a bit, but had hoped no seasoning would be needed.

Milligan
Supporter ❤

#844: Post by Milligan replying to dwarfboy1717 »

I've put about 10lbs through and it keeps getting better.

jdrobison