New Ceado E37J trouble dialing in

Grinders are one of the keys to exceptional espresso. Discuss them here.
plpoindexter

#1: Post by plpoindexter » Aug 10, 2019, 8:38 pm

Hey y'all
I just bought a Ceado E37J grinder because I needed not to wake up the house with my coffee addiction Ceado is by far a quieter machine. I am new to the barista world. 6 months a go I bought a Rocket Espresso R58 and the Rancilio Rocky Grinder. I was able to pull pretty good shots after a few weeks. Issue is with the just purchased Ceado grinder. I have gone through 5 lbs of coffee and there is just no consistency. Weights differ, pull time differs, lots of channeling, taste is bitter.

My process - grind 18 g, distribute evenly with the ONA distribution tool, tamp with a 30 lb calibrated tamper on a tamper rest, beans are usually 6 to 15 days old from a local roaster (Colorado River Coffee Roaster).

I can use this process on the Rancilio grinder and I get great shots, same process using the Ceado grinder and I never know what I am going to get. I have adjusted the grind setting (about 10 different settings) and i may get a decent shot then i get bathed in espresso and have changed nothing. I have not yet been able to make even one espresso from the Ceado as good tasting as the Rancilio. Any help would be appreciated.

leonelbego

#2: Post by leonelbego » Aug 13, 2019, 4:20 pm

Funny, I have exactly the same experience with my brand new Ceado E37S. I would dialled in the grinder now for the perfect shot, the next coffee extraction literally 2 hours later is way off, either too slow or too fast! I just don't get it anymore! is driving me MAD!

plpoindexter

#3: Post by plpoindexter » Aug 13, 2019, 7:36 pm