Mythos 1 low RPM tips and tricks

Grinders are one of the keys to exceptional espresso. Discuss them here.
boldstep

#1: Post by boldstep »

Hi guys

Just bought a used mythos 1 grinder with titanium burrs. Loving the grind consistency and flavor. As I'm new to this grinder would appreciate any tips and tricks. Some questions to spur the discussion

1- how often do folks find you need to swap out the clump buster? What is your maintenance routine?
2- What is the best method for scooping out the beans from the top of the grinder throat after you remove the hopper? I am finding that is quite annoying to do and there is a lot of waste if you don't do that.
3- What is the latest firmware release? Any benefit to updating?
4- Do folks see benefits in leaving the grinder on 24/7?
5- What beans and roasts work particularly well with the grinder? Which don't?

Thanks!
Jason

frank828

#2: Post by frank828 »

1. Don't mess with the clump buster. Don't ever jam anything up it. If anything maybe only clean from up top with the burr taken off. The less bending of the "teeth" the better. I've had my original buster in since early 2015 in a commercial environment. A light brushing with a medium sized brush is the most external cleaning i do in that area. I'm careful not to brush up into the chute.

2. Slide the hopper throat lid closed. Use the beans in the throat. Not really a great way to scoop those beans out.

3. I dunno what firmware i'm on but i have two of these grinders. One is from early 2015 and one is from last year. Haven't noticed any difference in software.

4. Mine are on 24/7 in a commercial setting. You will have issues when the temperatures change from cold to hot.

5. I only use lighter roasted modern roasts and feel it excels with these types of beans. I've never put in a dark roasted coffee in it.

Advertisement
boldstep (original poster)

#3: Post by boldstep (original poster) »

Thanks so much for the reply!

Follow up questions