Malwani Livi

Grinders are one of the keys to exceptional espresso. Discuss them here.
drH
Supporter ♡

#1: Post by drH »

Anyone use this grinder? Experiences?

LewBK

#2: Post by LewBK »

I have just started using one, but it is too new for me to comment yet. Do you have any specific questions?

Espresso Vision: the perfect cup of coffee starts with understanding your roast
Sponsored by Espresso Vision
drH (original poster)
Supporter ♡

#3: Post by drH (original poster) » replying to LewBK »

Mostly I am wondering if the build quality is good and if it is giving you good results? Any early impression?

LewBK

#4: Post by LewBK »

The build quality is solid and I am getting decent results so far, but it's new so I'm still learning things about it. I plan to write a full review of it at a later date. The planetary 3 to 1 gear helps with medium roasts, so you only have to hold the top gently to keep the grinder from moving, although I haven't tried a truly light roast yet. To me its primary competition would be the Lyn Weber HG-1 and the Kinu M68. It has a stepless grind adjustment, which is nice but the numbers on it are hard to read.

drH (original poster)
Supporter ♡

#5: Post by drH (original poster) » replying to LewBK »

Wondering if you have any further thoughts on this one?

handonam

#6: Post by handonam »

LewBK wrote:The build quality is solid and I am getting decent results so far, but it's new so I'm still learning things about it. I plan to write a full review of it at a later date. The planetary 3 to 1 gear helps with medium roasts, so you only have to hold the top gently to keep the grinder from moving, although I haven't tried a truly light roast yet. To me its primary competition would be the Lyn Weber HG-1 and the Kinu M68. It has a stepless grind adjustment, which is nice but the numbers on it are hard to read.
I'm curious against the HG-1 as well. I'm not hearing great things in terms of the quality control for the hg-1 lately

LewBK