Lido-E vs Ditting KR805

Grinders are one of the keys to exceptional espresso. Discuss them here.
dukeja

#1: Post by dukeja »

I have been using Lido-E for more than 2 years for V60, Kalita, and sometimes Aeropress. I roast my own beans with Kaldi Wide and then now Aillio Bullet V2, almost exclusively City to City+ (1C+20~30F). I also made my own Hendon-like water with slight variation. For testing/evaluation purpose, I usually use 10g beans and 1:18 water ratio with 93C water. I manage to brew consistently with such small amount of bean across V60, Kalita, and Aeropress in their own way.

I have been eyeing Ditting (or bunnzilla mod) grinder for a long time. Finally I get this beauty (probably the last one) directly from Ditting USA. I actually like its shape and weight much better than the current KR804.

The burr looks pristine and very nice:

The large hopper does not bother me at all, as soon as I open the gate, the beans just "flow" out like butter gracefully. No pop-corning, no change of motor sound, almost no grinding noise! I was so amazed since my Feima 600N (get to that later) always seems to torture the beans to death and raises my BP a bit. With some mist on beans, there is minimum retention that my scale cannot tell.

I don't drink much of espresso even I have a Flair (due to cholesterol raising issue), so I zeroed the Ditting slightly toward the coarser side (+6 clicks from touching instead of +2 spec by Ditting). With such calibration, I feel my Lido 1+3 (1 rev. + 3 clicks) is about the same as 5.5 on KR805. With such setting my V60 drain down time is about 2:15~2:25. I was a little surprised in my very first head-on comparison that Ditting grind was very slightly finer but the drain down time was actually 10sec faster.