Lido Basic?

Grinders are one of the keys to exceptional espresso. Discuss them here.
JohnBee

#1: Post by JohnBee »

Hi, I just received a Lido Basic grinder, and would like some advice on whether my expectations were perhaps too high?

With that said, I've been making and grinding coffee for about 5 years now, and have owned a host of hand grinders, none of which would constitute high-end imo. Though I may retract this, based on my latest purchase, as I fear my expectations may not be realistic?

My grinder experiences consists of about 5 hand grinders, ranging from dirt-cheap to around 150CAD

Of which, I couldn't complain, as this proved to be my learning experience, and where I concluded I'd eventually purchase a really good grinder - thus the 'Lido Basic', based on, hopper size, burrs and grind quality and durability(or warranty).

However, and after getting the unit, and maybe I am too prone to hype, I can't help but find that it is not as accurate as my Vzaahu Coffee Grinder, which was both cheap and has terribly design flaws, but seems to produced better looking grinds in-terms of consistency, and in comparison with the Lido Basic.

And so I wanted to ask before calling it, as I would have to jump to conclusions - if there was anything I could look at, or do in-terms of adjustments etc, that could help improve the grind size?

On the settling or breaking-in side of things, I have ground approximately 6 pots(Chemex) of coffee with the grinder to date.
Whereas my grind settings are in the range of coarse salt, and is typical for my pour-over style brews.

baldheadracing
Team HB

#2: Post by baldheadracing »

Welcome to H-B!

The Etzinger burrs used in the Lido are made with very hard uncoated tool steel. Their burrs are much harder than the relatively-soft stainless steel used in your previous grinder. However, that means that your new grinder will need significant break-in.