It finally arrived! Monolith Flat + SSP burrs

Grinders are one of the keys to exceptional espresso. Discuss them here.
eltakeiteasy

#1: Post by eltakeiteasy »

Sometimes when you buy something like this with all the hype you get it and you are a bit disappointed. Well, let me tell you the hype is real! This is not one of those times! Even after reading anything I could find, I was still BLOWN away by the beauty of it in person.

I am by no means an expert but this thing has me trying things I thought I never would. I pulled a god shot after getting dialed in on a single origin Ethiopian blend. (I have only used this for pour over in the past since it's way too bitter generally for espresso) and it was terrific! I'd argue it was better than anything I have ever tasted. I do not have a lot of experience so take that with a grain of salt. I think most of this is because with the flat you can experiment with shot times like no other machine. I was able to go for longer shot times for better extractions without any unpleasant taste.

Overall I am very pleased with my decision and purchase :) For anyone else that just received their flat, I went 1 step up from Denis's setting (on arrival 6.2) and also added a bit shorter pre-infusion at 30% full pressure. This seems to be the best formula for my machine:

Grind #7.2 -18 grams in and out of grinder (zero retention). 11 seconds pre-brew (30% full pressure), 30 seconds full pressure at 200F. My cheap ass machine is now pulling god shots. I am glad I listened to you all and went with a high-end grinder and a machine that cost 1/5 the grinder :)

I genuinely think, for my needs, I hit the point on the graph where X meets Y, and with any more upgrades, I'll start getting diminishing returns.

I would argue my setup is that sweet spot. If you do not agree please weigh in. I would love an excuse to upgrade my BDB. :)
LMWDP #672.

mivanitsky
Supporter ★

#2: Post by mivanitsky »