Inconsistent espresso grind w/Baratza Forte

Grinders are one of the keys to exceptional espresso. Discuss them here.
Almico

#1: Post by Almico »

After returning a few for various reasons before settling on this one, I've been using my Forte for a couple of months now and am noticing some issues.

Background: I'm using an ECM Giotto, 17g doses, 34g extractions with a goal of 28 seconds. VST baskets do not work for me, I own several. The stock basket that come with the machine produces the best espresso for me.

1) the grind on the Forte seems to be very sensitive to the coffee roast level and age. I can fill the hopper and dial in the setting one day and get 28 seconds extractions, the next day 15...or 36. Different roast levels require a completely new calibration session, which I wouldn't mind if the next day I got the same result. But it seems I need to dial in this grinder every time I pull a shot, wasting a lot of time and coffee.

2) I can set the grind level where it almost chokes the machine at first and then ejects the second half of the shot in 5 seconds. I thought I might be grinding to fine, forcing a channeling affect, but making the grind coarser does not help. It almost seems like I just have to get lucky in order to pull a good shot.

FWIW, I never have this issue with my Pharos. I set it once about 6 months ago and different roast levels and age affects the extraction time by 2-3 seconds at most, and I can usually live with every shot I've ever pulled with it. I never reset it. Shots extract smoothly and evenly with wonderful crema.

In contrast, with the Forte I get "slow to start", crema-less black extractions early on in the pull and then watery finishes. If I coarsen the grind to avoid the black coffee slick I get very fast extractions.

Like I said, I've been playing with the Forte for a while now and can't seem to get any constancy out of it. What might I be doing wrong?

turtle

#2: Post by turtle »