How (not) to clean the burrs

Grinders are one of the keys to exceptional espresso. Discuss them here.
millmountain

#1: Post by millmountain »

Cleaned the Niche Zero today after about 3-4 kg and absent-mindedly took it to the sink and used soap and water. Then a niggling in the back of mind mind said, "Uh, wait. Why was it I've never done this before?" Too late, so I did a quick search and the first explanations were that the burrs rust very easily and are "a nightmare" to dry properly.

I toweled it off and figured water might have penetrated a bit into the screws and metal-plastic edges, so I took the hair dryer to it and then put it in the oven at 60°C (140°F) for a little over half an hour. (In the lab we typically dry things at 80°C for 1 hour, but I don't know the polymer type and wanted to avoid any degradation.)

Next time I will remember just to use a toothbrush and paper towels, but are there any other reasons not to use soap and water? I started grinding again already; is there still something else I could do? First person to say, "Spray it down with WD-40!" gets an award...

NicoNYC

#2: Post by NicoNYC »

I wouldn't worry too much about having done damage. In fact, I bet the coffee you ground afterwards soaked up any traces of water in the burr teeth, and applied a light sheen of coffee oils to the surfaces. Most everything else in the grinder is aluminum or plastic. The only spot I'd be maybe concerned about is where the gearbox shaft meets the inner burr - water could get trapped in there and surface rust might bind the burr to the shaft? But that's really worst-case speculation.

Did you pull the burrs out to clean? It's pretty easy to take them out (you can leave the top burr screwed to its carrier) and get into the teeth with a toothbrush, get a little brush down the exit chute and into the corners of the grinding chamber. There was a whole thread where people debated the merits of cleaning vs. not, and how often.