How Much Coffee Do You Waste When Switching Beans?

Grinders are one of the keys to exceptional espresso. Discuss them here.
shanec

#1: Post by shanec »

I am brand new to home espresso making and am still getting used to my Ceado e37s. The one thing that is killing me is the amount of time and coffee beans wasted when trying to dial in the grinder for new beans. It probably took me over a pound to initially dial in my first beans, which were Verve Streetlevel. Once I burned through all of those, I switched to the Fattobene beans that came with my grinder from 1st-Line. These seem to be a darker roast and were slightly fresher, but I was shocked at how much finer I needed to grind the beans to get a good extraction speed. I probably burned through half of my 1 lb. bag just trying to get the speed right and I still don't think I have the espresso machine settings right for this roast to create a great espresso.

I don't plan to switch beans often and will likely stick to Black Cat or Counter Culture Big Trouble (or Hologram) because they are always available and fresh in my area. I know I need more experience and it will get better with time, but how much coffee do you guys typically burn through when you get new beans (even if the same roast, just different roast dates)? For now, I am likely going to have to buy 2 lbs. at a time until I get a little better at this process.

mrjag

#2: Post by mrjag »

I try not to switch beans frequently because, as you mentioned, it can sometimes take a pound of beans before I find the sweet spot. I've been pulling shots at home for years so while I'm not a pro, I'm not new either.

MB

#3: Post by MB »