HG-1 and chocolate flavors?

Grinders are one of the keys to exceptional espresso. Discuss them here.
LA

#1: Post by LA »

I'm relatively new to making my own espresso. My taste preference is pretty much the way Red Bird Espresso describes it: this espresso starts with a distinct hazelnut-chocolate aroma and progresses to sweet chocolate, toasted nut and caramel flavors in the cup...

I would like to get a solid grinder (using a Hario hand grinder for now) and have tried to read a lot. A common statement is that flat burrs may favor chocolate flavors while conicals bring out the fruity, acidic notes. But there are others suggesting that such differences are subtle and that conicals might not reduce chocolate flavors.

My question is whether the HG-1 would result in less of the Red Bird flavor compared to a good flat burr grinder. I like the idea of manual grinding and single dosing with the HG-1, but if there is a greater chance of creating a Red Bird flavor with flat burrs, that would be more important.

Bikeminded

#2: Post by Bikeminded »

I have an HG-1 and been on a run of Red Bird Espresso lately because (with my taster) it's giving me nice 'chocolately' shots, which is what I want.
I did though switch over to RB Blue Jaguar on the last order, and frankly pretty good on the chocolate side also.
(That being said, there are a lot of folks on this forum with much better tasters than mine, but this is what I'm experiencing.)

DanoM

#3: Post by DanoM »

I have a Compak K10, and the same conical burrs in a hand grinder. From my very limited experience I am able to get ample chocolate & nutty notes from beans with either grinder. Unfortunately I don't have a flat burr grinder to compare this with to say definitively whether one style of burr is better than another for your goal.