The Helor Flux Grinder Review

Grinders are one of the keys to exceptional espresso. Discuss them here.
TomC
Team HB

#1: Post by TomC »

I've been using the new Helor Flux grinder for about two months now gathering my thoughts on it and hoping to convey its features. For reference, this is the Titan grinder in your hands that was being referred to briefly in the prototype stage as the Helor 106. The Helor Flux is a stout 2150g stainless steel hand grinder bearing a set of Robur sized 71mm conical burrs. The first shot I've taken is next to a portafilter for size comparison.

The tactile impression of the Flux is that it is precisely engineered, robust and overbuilt. It contains a gear reduction mechanism in the top cap that makes grinding even the lightest roast an absolute breeze at the only expense of longer grinding times. It's hefty, weighing in just over 2 kilos, it tops the charts in terms of heft in the hand grinder world. But if it's seen as its primary purpose of espresso grinding, then the weight issues are somewhat mitigated by the fact that you're not grinding a big 60g batch of beans for a drip brew.

Everything I feel or touch is rock solid. There's a rubberized grip around the center of the body that helps stabilize the grinder if held freehand. I found myself switching back and forth from holding it free hand, versus bracing the grinder at a slight angle in my lap if I was sitting down. The bottom of the grinder (the catch cup) is mounted with magnets and holds well and detaches easily.

My general dose weights hover between 16-20g depending on the machine I'm using. Again, mentioning the gear reduction mechanism built into the cap greatly reduces the force needed to grind. I didn't want to disassemble anything in order to examine the gear reduction mechanism, but it takes up a considerable portion of the upper component of the grinder.