Getting weird results while dialing in new grinder

Grinders are one of the keys to exceptional espresso. Discuss them here.
Arialflash

#1: Post by Arialflash »

Hi all,
So today I received this espresso grinder. Previously, I was using the Hario Mini Mill for espresso. The mini mill was able to make a 39g shot in about 32s,18g dose with 7 bar pressure on the gauge.

Currently I'm dialing in the new grinder and I'm getting very weird results. 39g shot from an 18g dose in about 45s (first drip on 16s), with 7 bars pressure on the gauge. The pressure decreases as the time goes. I also noticed that the puck from this shot is a lot more mushy than the pucks that I would get from the mini mill.

What are your thoughts? Should I go finer?
(P.S. I'm a newbie and this is my first time dialing in an electric grinder.)

Jake_G
Team HB

#2: Post by Jake_G »

A slow extraction time and a mushy puck is generally indicative of a fine grind. I would not worry much about the pressure gauge on your machine and instead focus on the total shot time and flavor of the espresso.

I can't find much technical information on the Ferratti Ferro FCM3605, but I assume it has a typical vibe pump. The declining pressure suggests that the puck is breaking up with your new grinder, which is something that can happen quite easily when you grind too fine, so I would loosen the grind until you have a shot time that is in the 28-36s range and then adjust from there based on taste. Chances are that this will stabilize the brew pressure a bit, as you will have flow earlier in the shot and more consistent flow throughout the shot, without the increase in flow/decrease in pressure at the tail end of the shot that you are seeing now.

Cheers!

- Jake
LMWDP #704

Arialflash (original poster)

#3: Post by Arialflash (original poster) replying to Jake_G »

Hi Jake, thanks for the quick reply!