G-IOTA / DF64 espresso grinder - Page 144

Grinders are one of the keys to exceptional espresso. Discuss them here.
iyayy

#1431: Post by iyayy »

Brewzologist wrote:I installed the larger opening version chute from the "Hacking the DF64 exit chute" thread awhile back with my MP burrs. With that mod, for filter brew grind sizes I have no retention and no need to use bellows. For spro grind sizes I may get 0.1g retention and use the bellows similarly to Jeff's technique, but I don't discard the few fines I may get. (EDIT: zero on my DF64 is at burr chirp. Spro is ~8-10 and filter ~40'ish on the dial).
interesting.
do you rdt?
i dont rdt because i find it may messes beans humidity affect shot time, since im not good at spraying consistent amount. i did mod my clump crusher, and some beans do turns out more chaffs, but its not really messy, but do need some regular counter cleaning. my retention has been on the 0.1g at espresso, much much more without bellows. at 60+ (my brew settings) its probably around 0.2-0.3g fines. i sometimes skip those if i want a cleaner brew.
also using MP.

Brewzologist
Supporter ♡

#1432: Post by Brewzologist »

Yes I use RDT regularly for both spro and filter grinds. I use small misting bottles which are pretty consistent. Haven't noticed any effects on my shots.

Toxicswan

#1433: Post by Toxicswan »

I have had the DF64 for 6 months with TiN burr. Had no luck aligning it at all. I get terrible cups out of it compared to my old Fellow Ode that I gave to my cousin when my DF64 arrived. Just bought SSP multi purpose burrs. Trying to align this weekend.

iyayy

#1434: Post by iyayy replying to Toxicswan »

try replace the clump crusher first.
i almost regret getting df64 until i did that.

@Brewzologist
thanks for the info.

Toxicswan

#1435: Post by Toxicswan replying to iyayy »