Extraction yield refresher

Grinders are one of the keys to exceptional espresso. Discuss them here.
peacecup

#1: Post by peacecup »

I started digging around and found JimS's extraction yield study, which some may not have seen for while:

http://www.coffeecuppers.com/Espresso.htm

Interesting read - in the Monolith thread folks have been writing about grinder alignment and extraction yield. Jim's study seems to indicate that EY of 25% is the norm for Italian espresso, for example. Or am I missing something?

PC
LMWDP #049
Hand-ground, hand-pulled: "hands down.."

canuckcoffeeguy

#2: Post by canuckcoffeeguy »

If I'm not mistaken, that preceded the era of using refractometers to measure EY.

I have no experience measuring EY. But maybe the oven drying method is slightly less precise than refractometry. In that post you linked to Jim cites some challenges with the oven method (e.g. recovering stray grinds from shower screens after a shot etc)

Again, just posing the question. Someone please correct me if I'm wrong.

OldNuc

#3: Post by OldNuc »

Breaking the puck up and air drying it at ambient temperature should provide accurate info. When dried in an elevated temperature environment the results will be skewed by the initial moisture in the fresh ground coffee not accounted for as the elevated temperature drying should remove most if not all moisture. Other than that the accuracy should be quite acceptable.

jpender

#4: Post by jpender »

Two things. First the method measures total solids which is of course going to be higher than dissolved solids (as a refractometer reports). The other OldNuc mentioned, the moisture in the fresh grounds.

A simple example: