Evaluate my burrs, please

Grinders are one of the keys to exceptional espresso. Discuss them here.
Aspiring-Coffee-snob

#1: Post by Aspiring-Coffee-snob »

So, I am new to H-B and you have the honor to weigh in on my very first post, don't you feel lucky, lol? :lol:

Anyway, I JUST purchased a Ditting KF804 today for...drumroll please....brace yourself............the amazingly low price of only $100!!! :D
It was on Craigslist with no pics, brand or model #, but when I inquired and was told what it was, I drove 80 mi. to get it the same day they replied!

I took the burrs out, cleaned the machine (fairly well), and everything looks great (to me). I took a few pics of the burrs and I would appreciate if any knowledgeable member would give me their opinion of their condition. Also, can you confirm if these are the cast ones? The grit texture on the flat black areas look like it's from casting sand/media to me) The first two pics are the bottom, the next three are the top. THANK YOU IN ADVANCE FOR YOUR HELP!

TomC
Team HB

#2: Post by TomC »

Those are absolutely dead and worn flat. Replace them. Good deal though!

* Also, consider calling Ditting USA, and see if these can be traded in for sharpened burrs at a lower cost. Their "resharpening" service applies to pressed burrs like these, but they don't actually sharpen the exact ones you send in. If you send yours in (granting that they're able to resharpen them) they'll inspect them, toss them in a big pile and send out another pair just like it that was just resharpened.

Generally, they can do this up to 3 times. Each time a set is sharpened, it gets stamped. So they check for that too.

Mind you, this may not even be one of the versions they bother to resharpen. Call and ask.
Join us and support Artisan Roasting Software=https://artisan-scope.org/donate/

Aspiring-Coffee-snob (original poster)

#3: Post by Aspiring-Coffee-snob (original poster) »