Eureka Mignon Silenzio/Perfetto/Specialita' (2018) - Page 22

Grinders are one of the keys to exceptional espresso. Discuss them here.
SKJohnson

#211: Post by SKJohnson »

aftercrasher wrote:I've been using a Perfetto for the past 3 months and say its a great little grinder. Very little grind retention, and has virtually no clumping - what a difference from my previous Rancilio Rocky.

However, perhaps some users of the Perfetto can share your experience, I grind almost exclusively for espresso, and my grind setting is all the way at 2.5-3 (at 'Turco' range according to the sticker). Although it extracts well to the time, I can't help but wonder, isn't that a tad bit too fine? - basically i'm almost at the end of the range.
I've just started using the Perfetto and have also noticed that I have to be right in the middle of the Turkish range. I think that's just the deal with this grinder. I was distressed, as I thought my unit was faulty, but I've counted 3 people in this thread that have a similar experience.

GregoryJ

#212: Post by GregoryJ »

I've recently received the Mignon Specialita. The espresso shots are great so far. I am using a medium-dark brazilian bean, and have a question on the grind adjustment.

I am grinding around 2.5 marks (~1/3 rotation) away from the burrs chirping. Is that pretty standard? I found very small changes in the adjustment wheel give relatively large changes in the grind size. On the Eureka Atom I am at ~3/4 rotation from burrs chirping for similar shots, so it gives me more than 2x precision in choosing the grind size. It's not terribly difficult, but it seems like they could have used a finer thread on the Mignon Specialita adjustment.

dak

#213: Post by dak » replying to GregoryJ »